Sanskriti Museums

Sanskriti Museums Delhi

Museum of Everyday Art

The objects in the Museum are arranged in a set of fourteen groupings. The sequence of these groupings has been done in a manner that reflects the cycle of life as generally understood and lived in traditional India. Thus infancy is represented with toys and other objects for a baby, followed by objects of learning in adulthood, leading to vocational and household duties. Representing this process are artifacts for use in writing, scales and measures, ovens and tongs, kitchen accessories and also household objects like lotas and sprouted pots, locks and latches and miscellaneous objects. Indulgences of the youth follow with objects like betel-boxes and nut-crackers, hukahs and chillums, as also objects of women's beauty culture. The last stage of life is when one has fulfilled all of one's duties and is attempting to free oneself of all worldly attachments and engaging in only spiritual matters. This stage is represented by icons, mendicant's objects, amulets and ritual accessories. The groupings are as follows:

1. Toys for children
2. Artifacts for use in writing
3. Hookahs and chillums
4. Betel-boxes and nutcrackers
5. Scales and measures
6. Lotas and spouted pots
7. Kitchen accessories
8. Ovens and tongs
9. Locks and latches
10. Miscellaneous Objects
11. Women's beauty-culture
12. Lamps and incense burners
13. Mendicant's objects, amulets and ritual accesories
14. Icons